I think I’m going to change the theme of these titles

Hello citizens of the world! Last week.. I learned.. where I would live.. the next…. two…. years!!

So I’m going to anticlimactically tell you, and then tell you why that place sounds cool. I am going to Amazonas, Peru. Woah!! Yeah… So now, a lil geography lesson.

Peru is broken up into coast, mountains, and jungle. About 2/3 of Peru is jungle but it’s the least populated area and Peace Corps doesn’t send people there. The majority of the population lives on the coast, which is dry and has things like paved roads and highways. Peace Corps mostly sends people to the mountains (la sierra) which is where I too shall be. Amazonas is the department I’m going to live in. I think the name may lead people to believe I’m in the Amazon, but I’m going to be in the south where there’s sierra, but pretty close to the Amazon too. It’s going to beautiful, is the word on the street. Lots of rain, somewhat cold, lots of greenery. Some cool things in Amazonas include one of the tallest waterfalls in the world and some ruins that rival Macchu Picchu.

Recently we’ve simmered down on the daily four hours of Spanish and taken a lot of day trips. One of the coolest ones was way up on this mountain, where we inspected a community’s water system. Another cool one was visiting a university in Lima that did research in rural development technologies. They had a pump that was powered by a seesaw among other things.

Climbing the mountain

Climbing the mountain

Hasta la vista

Hasta la vista

For Halloween, we went to a party at our country director’s house in Lima. Our costume was a combi van aka the most awesomely Peruvian costume ever. We even had a cobrador, which is the guy who takes up money on the combi, who got his hair cut in this ridiculous mohawk for the the occasion. The party was really fun. The director fed us hamburgers and American candy, and there was a dance party, of course.

Combi costume

Combi costume

This weekend, we’re all celebrating early Thanksgiving since we’ll be at site for actual Thanksgiving. Then I’m taking a 24 hour bus ride to Amazonas to meet my family and my pueblo. I can’t believe training is almost over. I feel like it’s flown by.. I’m pretty ready to move to my site but I’m gonna be sad to leave my family here and all the awesome volunteers of Peru 22.

My favorite moto in the world

My favorite moto in the world “Rebequita”

