What goes on… in your heart

Two more weeks gone by here in training, and it’s officially been a month since I’ve been here. I think I’ll just hit some of the highlights/lowlights:

We have had some cooking adventures.. Last week there was a nutritional dish contest and we were only allowed to use the dollar equivalent of $1.80. This is because we’re going to be poor and also Peruvians tend to have starch-heavy diets so finding some way of eating vegetables is probably a good idea. Our team created a beautiful edible Peruvian flag.

Beautiful dish that sadly did not win anything

Beautiful dish that sadly did not win anything

Group with food flag

Group with food flag

Then this past week our language class cooked a Peruvian delicacy…. Guinea Pig! Yes, it’s true. Once I got over the fact that I was eating an adorable little animal (which didn’t take long) it was pretty good. It tasted something like chicken but had a very tough skin.

Language class

Language class

Master chef Glenn at work

Master chef Glenn at work

Guinea pig. Very tasty.

Guinea pig. Very tasty.

One morning, I got to the combi stop and found a great crowd of people waiting along the side of the road. Apparently there was a strike because the combi drivers were tired of paying tickets and nobody could go anywhere. Peace Corps got a van for us, and all 27 volunteers from two neighborhoods managed to fit inside and make it to class.

Combi strike

Combi strike

The school that my sister and cousin attend had their anniversary last week (everything has anniversaries here) and to celebrate, each class did a dance and wore costumes of some indigenous culture group in Peru. They were really impressive and well choreographed.

Isaura (cousin) and me. She was dressed like a man apparently.

Isaura (cousin) and me. She was dressed like a man apparently.

Here's the different classes showing off Peru cultures

Here’s the different classes showing off Peru cultures

Favorite costume. It's some group from the jungle.

Favorite costume. It’s some group from the jungle.

My family all ate together for my host mom’s birthday. I was really happy to be included as “part of the family”. An interesting tradition was that they sang happy birthday in English as well as Spanish, and I don’t think that was for me.

Entire (immediate) family celebrating mom's birthday

Entire (immediate) family celebrating mom’s birthday

Erika and I taught a class of sixth graders about saving and protecting our water supplies.

"Agua!!"

“Agua!!”

Unfortunately, we had three volunteers go home recently. I told this to my host parents and my mom gave me a very inspirational speech that I somewhat understood about not being sad and “yes you can!” It was really sweet.

My family got in a discussion about eating steak with knives or forks/hands when they saw me eating steak with a knife. I think my dad had the final word when he said that with hands it’s “mas rico” or “more delicious”.

My very cute and crazy niece Daleska

My very cute and crazy niece Daleska

Daleska holding a cat. Cat was not happy.

Daleska holding a cat. Cat was not happy.

